ADV – Leaderboard

The 2017 Distinguished Award Winners in St. Louis. Photo from

USITT Announces Winners of 2017 Distinguished Achievement Awards

7 individuals, including Santo Loquasto and Liz Covey, have been recognized by the USITT for their work in theatre technology and design.

LIVERPOOL, N.Y: The United States Institute for Theatre Technology (USITT) has announced its recipients of the 2017 Distinguished Achievement Awards. The winners are Liz Covey for costume design and technology, Fred Foster for lighting design, Santo Loquasto for scenic design, Richard K. Thomas for sound design, Rocky Paulson for technical direction, Joseph Drummond for management, and John Conklin for education.

This prestigious award is given to individuals with a well-established career in any area of design or technology in the performing arts or entertainment industry. Previous individuals have been recognized for the following disciplines:  scenic design, lighting design, sound design, technical direction, costume design & technology, theatre architecture, theatrical consulting, production management, stage or arts management, costume design, entertainment technology, and education.

Previous winners include Monona Rossol for education, Teresa Eyring for management, Eugene Lee for scenic design, Desmond Heeley for costume and scenic design, Barton Myers for architecture, and Thurston James for property design.

The USITT was founded in 1960 as an organization to create a community for practitioners of theatre design and technology.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard