ADV – Leaderboard

Williamstown Theatre Festival Announces New-Play Awards and Commissions

The company awards Jiehae Park’s new play and announces the recipients of the New Play Commissioning Program.

WILLIAMSTOWN, MASS.: Williamstown Theatre Festival (WTF) has announced that Jiehae Park’s Hannah and the Dread Gazebo is the recipient of the 2016 L. Arnold Weissberger New Play Award. Park will receive $10,000, a reading at WTF, and an optional publication by Samuel French.

Jiehae Park.
Jiehae Park.

WTF administers the L. Arnold Weissberger New Play Award on behalf of the Anna L. Weissberger Foundation. The award honors the theatrical attorney and recognizes excellence in playwriting. The 2016 judges were Becky Ann Baker, Daniel Goldfarb, Donald Margulies, Cynthia Nixon, and Liesl Tommy.

Park is also the recipient of the Jay Harris Commission, a $10,000 prize to write a new play.

WTF artistic director Mandy Greenfield has also announced the recipients of the 2016 New Play Commissioning Program: Melissa James Gibson (in a co-commission with Second Stage Theatre), Matthew Lopez, and Lucy Thurber. The writers will receive a writing residency at the festival.

Harrison David Rivers will serve as the festival’s 2016 playwright-in-residence, contributing plays for the theatre’s reading series, creating program dramaturgy for playbills, and moderating post-show talkbacks.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard