ADV – Leaderboard

Will Reynolds and Eric Price Win 2018 Fred Ebb Award

The songwriting duo will be presented with a cash prize this month.

NEW YORK CITY: The Fred Ebb Foundation, in association with the Roundabout Theatre Company, has named Will Reynolds and Eric Price the winners of the 14th annual Fred Ebb Award for aspiring musical theatre writers. Alan Cumming will present the winners with a $60,000 prize at a private ceremony on Nov. 26.

Will Reynolds and Eric Price.

Reynolds (music) and Price (lyrics and book) have co-written the musicals Radioactive, Around the World, and The Sixth Borough. Their latest collaboration is a musical adaptation of Richard Greenberg’s play The Violet Hour, which will be presented at Manhattan Theatre Club next month. Reynolds and Price have served as Dramatists Guild Fellows for Musical Theatre and have been members of Goodspeed’s Johnny Mercer Writers’ Colony and the Rhinebeck Writers’ Retreat. They are both on the faculty of the musical theatre programs at Pace University and Molloy College/CAP21.

This year, the selection committee was made up of actress Andréa Burns, Foundation trustee Mitchell S. Bernard, lyricist and composer Sheldon Harnick, music director David Loud, music director Mary-Mitchell Campbell, and playwright Tim Pinckney. Each year, the Foundation also makes a donation to Broadway Cares/Equity Fights AIDS.

The award, named in honor of the late award-winning lyricist Fred Ebb, is funded by royalties from Ebb’s  work.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard