ADV – Leaderboard

Lucas Hnath Receives the Kesselring Prize

Hnath is the first recipient of the Kesselring Prize since the award’s six-year absence.

NEW YORK CITY: The National Arts Club announced Lucas Hnath as the winner of the Kesselring Prize for his play The Christians. Hnath will receive $10,000 prize with the award.

Lucas Hnath
Lucas Hnath

The Kesselring Prize, named in honor of the late playwright Joseph Kesselring, honors not-yet nationally recognized playwrights. Sponsoring theatres submit nominations of playwrights for consideration. John Guare, Anne Cattaneo, and Lynn Nottage served as the jury this year. This is the first year the prize has been distributed after a six-year absence.

Hnath was submitted for consideration by the Actors Theatre of Louisville, which commissioned The Christians and premiered the play at the Humana Festival in 2014. The Christians is currently running at Playwrights Horizons through Oct. 25.

James Ijames
James Ijames

James Ijames was also recognized with an honorable mention for his play The Most Spectacularly Lamentable Trial of Miz Martha Washington, submitted by the Wilma Theatre in Philadelphia.

Both playwrights will be honored at the Kesselring Prize reception Nov. 22 at the National Arts Club in New York City.


Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by joining TCG, which entitles you to copies of our quarterly print magazine and helps support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism.

ADV – Billboard