ADV – Leaderboard

Madeleine George Wins the Whiting Award for Drama

The playwright will win the $50,000 prize for drama, presented by the Whiting Foundation.

Madeleine George (Photo by Lisa Kron)
Madeleine George (Photo by Lisa Kron)

BROOKLYN: The Whiting Foundation has announced the recipients of the 2016 Whiting Awards, given to emerging writers of fiction, nonfiction, drama, and poetry. The 10 recipients will each receive a $50,000 award will at a ceremony March 23. This year’s winner in drama is Madeleine George.

“Six brilliant judges looked far and read deeply to settle on our 10 winners, and we hope the support and encouragement of the award will free them up to do adventurous work,” said Courtney Hodell, director of Writers’ Programs, in a statement.

The Whiting Awards, established by the Whiting Foundation in 1985, award writers based on the criteria of early-career achievement and the promise of superior literary work to come.

George’s plays have been produced or developed at Soho Rep, New York Theatre Workshop, About Face Theatre, and more.  Her play The (Curious Case of the) Watson Intelligence was nominated for a Pulitzer Prize in 2014. She is the recipient of a MacDowell Fellowship, the Princess Grace Playwriting Award, a Manhattan Theatre Club Playwriting Fellowship, and the Jane Chambers Award. She was also a Lark Playwrights Workshop Fellow in 2010. She is a founding member of the Obie-winning  collective 13P (Thirteen Playwrights, Inc.). She holds an MFA from New York University.

The complete list of winners can be found here.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by joining TCG, which entitles you to copies of our quarterly print magazine and helps support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism.

ADV – Billboard