ADV – Leaderboard

Five Artists Receive 2016 Herb Alpert Awards

Playwright Anne Washburn and choreographer Ishmael Houston-Jones are among the recipients.

SANTA MONICA, CALIF.: The Herb Alpert Foundation and the California Institute of the Arts, have announced the recipients of the 2016 Herb Alpert Awards. The award recognizes exceptional mid-career artists.

Anne Washburn.
Anne Washburn.

This year’s recipients are musician Dohee Lee, playwright Anne Washburn, artist Simone Leigh, choreographer Ishmael Houston-Jones, and filmmaker Cauleen Smith. Each winner will receive an unrestricted cash prize of $75,000 at a ceremony on May 6 in Santa Monica, Calif.

The Herb Alpert Foundation established the award in 1994, which has been administered by California Institute of the Arts since.

ADV – Billboard