ADV – Leaderboard

Joshua Henry as Noble Sissle, Brandon Victor Dixon as Eubie Blake, Billy Porter as Aubrey Lyles, and Brian Stokes Mitchell as Flournoy Miller in "Shuffle Along." (Photo by Julieta Cervantes)

New York Drama Critics’ Circle Selects 2015–16 Award Winners

‘The Humans’ has been named best play and ‘Shuffle Along,’ best musical.

NEW YORK CITY: The New York Drama Critics’ Circle has announced its selection for the best play and musical of the 2015–16 season. The play prize will go to Stephen Karam’s The Humans. The best musical prize will go to Shuffle Along, or The Making of the Musical Sensation of 1921 and All That Followed, book by George C. Wolfe, music by Eubie Blake, lyrics by Noble Sissle.  The  awards will be presented on May 17 at a private cocktail reception.

The award for best play includes a cash prize of $2,500, made possible by the Lucille Lortel Foundation.

In addition to the drama prizes, special citations were given to Public Theater artistic director Oskar Eustis; actor Lois Smith for her roles in the Off-Broadway productions of John and Marjorie Prime; and the team of director Ivo van Hove and lighting designer Jan Versweyveld, represented on Broadway this season with A View from the Bridge and The Crucible.

The New York Drama Critics’ Circle, comprised of 22 New York–based drama critics, selected the winners at the organization’s 81st voting meeting. The New York Drama Critics’ Circle Award was established in 1936.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard