ADV – Leaderboard

Lisa Kron and Daniel Zaitchik Receive 2017 Kleban Prizes

The awards recognize promising musical theatre librettists and lyricists.

NEW YORK CITY: New Dramatists has named Lisa Kron and Daniel Zaitchik the winners of the 2017 Kleban Prizes for writing in musical theatre. Each award includes a $100,000 cash prize.

Lisa Kron.
Lisa Kron.

The Kleban Foundation, established in 1988 in honor of composer and lyricist Edward Kleban, recognizes musical theatre librettists and lyricists. Applicants’ work must have been previously produced onstage or in a workshop production; they must have been or be a current member of a professional musical workshop or theatre group; and their work must not have appeared on Broadway for more than a two-year period. This year’s judges included Kristen Anderson-Lopez, Robert Lopez, Mary Testa, and Ira Weitman.

Kron won for most promising musical theatre librettist. She wrote the book and lyrics for Fun Home, which received two Tony Awards in 2015 and ran for a year and a half on Broadway. She also wrote and performed in Well and 2.5 Minute Ride.

Zaitchik, a composer and playwright, won for most promising musical theatre lyricist. His work Picnic at Hanging Rock was developed at Lincoln Center Theater and Ars Nova.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard