ADV – Leaderboard

PEN America Awards 3 Playwrights

Suzan-Lori Parks, Tarell Alvin McCraney, and Thomas Bradshaw receive prizes in the drama category.

NEW YORK CITY: PEN America and the Laura Pels International Foundation have named the winners of the 2017 PEN/Laura Pels International Foundation for Theater Awards. PEN America’s literary awards recognize writers in fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, translation, and more.

Tarell Alvin McCraney.

This year, the drama recipients are Suzan-Lori Parks, Tarell Alvin McCraney, and Thomas Bradshaw. The judges included Oskar Eustis, Michael C. Hall, and Young Jean Lee.

Suzan-Lori Parks (Father Comes Home from the Wars, Parts 1, 2 and 3Topdog/UnderdogIn the Blood) has won the Master American Dramatist award and will receive a commissioned art object in recognition of her body of work.

Tarell Alvin McCraney (MoonlightThe Brother/Sister PlaysChoir Boy) has been awarded the American Playwright in Mid-Career award, and will receive a cash prize of $7,500.

Thomas Bradshaw (FulfillmentIntimacy, The Bereaved) is the recipient of the Emerging American Playwright award, which comes with a cash prize of $2,500.

“Thomas’s plays are electrifying,” said the judges in a statement. “They elicit laughter, shock, outrage, and self-examination. The judges recognize Thomas’s bold and distinctive voice.”

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard