ADV – Leaderboard

ATCA Announces Recipients of New-Play Awards

Nate Eppler and Michael Cristofer received prizes.

LOUISVILLE, KY.: American Theatre Critics Association (ATCA) has announced the recipients of its annual awards. The awards, which ATCA announced at the Humana Festival of New American Plays on April 8, recognize new plays produced at nonprofit theatres outside of New York City. The winners were selected from a pool of 27 eligible scripts recommended by ATCA members from around the country.

“The vibrancy and range of the work this year was remarkable,” said committee chair Lou Harry in a statement. “Our ATCA committee members relish the opportunity to experience the work of these theatre artists and passionately debate them with colleagues.”

Michael Cristofer.

Michael Cristofer’s play Man in the Ring received the Harold and Mimi Steinberg/American Theatre Critics Association Award. Crisofer will receive a cash prize of $25,000. Special citation awards of $7,500 were given to Tracy Letts’s Mary Page Marlowe and Visiting Edna by David Rabe.

Nate Eppler received the 2017 M. Elizabeth Osborn New Play Award for his play The Ice Treatment. The award, which recognizes an emerging playwright, comes with a $10,000 cash prize.

Committee members for this year’s ATCA Awards include Misha Berson, Bruce Burgun, Lindsay Christians, Mike Fischer, Pam Harbaugh, Michael P. Howley, Erin Keane, Mark Lowry, Jonathan Mandell, Julius Novik, Marjorie Oberlander, Kathryn Osenlund, Wendy Parker, David Sheward, Martha Wade Steketee, and Perry Tannenbaum.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by joining TCG, which entitles you to copies of our quarterly print magazine and helps support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism.

ADV – Billboard