ADV – Leaderboard

Rattlestick Playwrights Theater Announces 2017-18 Fellowships and Commissions

The grants will support emerging directors, artists, and playwrights.

NEW YORK CITY: Rattlestick Playwrights Theater has announced the recipients of the company’s 2017-18 fellowships and awards.

Cori Thomas.

The Toulmin Playwright Commission, a grant to commission new works by emerging female playwrights,  goes to Cori Thomas for her play Lockdown. The play is inspired by Thomas’s experience spending time with life-sentenced inmates at San Quentin State Prison.

The newly created Rattlestick Directing Fellowship, supported by Sonja Berggren and Patrick Seaver, has been awarded to Kevin Hourigan. He will work with artistic director Danielle Topol throughout the year cultivating projects for future productions. The fellowship will culminate in an end-of- the-year event in which Hourigan will design an evening to showcase his work for the industry and general public. Hourigan is a recent graduate of the Yale School of Drama’s MFA directing program.

The Tow Foundation has awarded $75,000 grants to seven New York City theatres to support a playwright of their choosing as the 2017–18 Tow Playwright-in-Residence. Rattlestick Playwrights Theater has selected Diana Oh, and her show {my lingerie play} 2017: THE CONCERT AND CALL TO ARMS!!!!!!!!! The Final Installation is currently running at the company through Oct. 28. As part of the residency, Oh received a full-time salary.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard