ADV – Leaderboard

Center Theatre Group Announces 2018-19 Writers’ Workshop

A cohort of 7 L.A.-based writers will develop new works at Center Theatre Group.

LOS ANGELES: Center Theatre Group (CTG) has announced the participants of its 2018-19 L.A. Writers’ Workshop. CTG’s artistic staff has selected Luis Alfaro, Aziza Barnes, Diana Burbano, Noah Haidle, Aditi Brennan Kapil, Brian Otaño, and Ruby Rae Spiegel. To be eligible, writers must currently reside in L.A. and be working on or interested in starting a new work.

Ruby Rae Spiegel. (Photo by Chris Rubino)

The eight-month residency program aims to bring together L.A.-based writers of varying backgrounds and writing styles to create new work. The program kicked off this month with a weekend-long salon and Q&A session with the playwrights, and will continue with monthly meetings. The residency will culminate in June with a retreat and readings of the plays.

In the Writers’ Workshop’s 13-year history, the program has grown to include 96 playwrights including Jennifer Haley, Dominique Morisseau, Qui Nguyen, and Marco Ramirez.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard