ADV – Leaderboard

Women in the Arts & Media Coalition Announces Collaboration Awards

The biennial awards recognize female-led collaborations in theatre and film.

NEW YORK CITY: The Women in the Arts & Media Coalition has selected the 6th Biennial Collaboration Award winners. The awardees recognize women who successfully collaborate to create new films and stage works. The awards will be presented at SVA Theater on March 30, on International SWAN DAY (Support Women Artists Now).

Deborah Yarchun

Among the theatre recipients are playwright Deborah Yarchun and director Jess Chayes for their play Preservation.

“We’re thrilled for the opportunity to continue to work together through Women in the Arts & Media Coalitions’ Collaboration Award!” said Yarchun and Chayes in a joint statement. “We’ve been eager for a way to continue our collaboration since we workshopped Preservation for its first reading at the William Inge Center for the Arts. The award came as a wonderful surprise and will be pivotal in furthering the life of this new play.”

Honored theatre finalists include the immersive theatre work Courage, conceived by playwrights Melissa Bell and Tannis Kowalchuk; Click by Jacqueline Goldfinger and directed by Katherine Carter; and United Flight 232 by playwright Brena Barrie and directed by Vanessa Stalling.

A special mention was given to Ophira Eisenberg and Maggie Cino for Scars, and the musical The Uncivil Ones with book by Charissa Bertels and music by Ayumi Okada.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard