ADV – Leaderboard

MacDowell Colony Announces Winter-Spring Fellowships

Multiple theatre artists are among MacDowell Colony’s 87 winter-spring fellows, who will receive an average of $10,000 and a fully funded residency.

PETERBOROUGH, N.H.: The MacDowell Colony has awarded winter-spring fellowships to 87 artists. Theatre artist fellows include Madeleine George, Khawla Ibraheem, Francisco Mendoza, Jay B. Muskett, and Stav Palti Negev. A full list of the winter-spring fellows can be found here. Fellows receive an average value of $10,000 and are provided a private studio and accommodations for up to eight weeks.

Madeleine George.

“At a time where societies feel imperiled and the news cycle endless, providing time and space in a pastoral setting is a vital opportunity for creative spirits to risk and experiment with new ideas,” said executive director Philip Himberg in a statement. “More than ever, the work of MacDowell feels urgent, and our hope is that the plays, novels, music, and visual art that is born, in part, in Peterborough, finds amplification across the globe. Art informs us and transforms us.”

Established in 1906, the mission of the MacDowell Colony is to nurture the arts by offering creative individuals an inspiring environment of multidisciplinary exchange. The MacDowell Colony awards more than 300 fellowships each year. The next application deadline is January 15, 2020 for the summer 2020 residency period.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard