ADV – Leaderboard

ASCAP and EdTa Establish Stephen Schwartz Musical Theatre Teacher of the Year Award

The award will recognize a middle or high school educator at this year’s International Thespian Festival.

CINCINNATI: The ASCAP Foundation and Educational Theatre Association have established the annual Stephen Schwartz Musical Theatre Teacher of the Year Award to recognize a middle or high school theatre teacher.

“Theatre teachers help to not just bring theatre, but bring empathy and the ability to think, to work together as a group, and understand other people,” said composer Stephen Schwartz in a statement. “These are things so desperately needed in our country right now that go way, way beyond theatre and musical theatre.”

The recipient will be selected by a panel of EdTA teachers, EdTA leaders, musical theatre industry professionals, and representatives of the ASCAP Foundation. The winner will receive a $5,000 award and travel to the International Thespian Festival for the announcement and recognition. Nominations are now open and due by March 15.

“We are thrilled to partner with Stephen Schwartz and the ASCAP Foundation to bring well-deserved recognition to the extraordinary work of teachers who bring musical theatre to life for their students,” said EdTA executive director Julie Cohen Theobald in a statement.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard