ADV – Leaderboard

James Jackson, Larry Owens, L Morgan Lee, Antwayn Hopper in "A Strange Loop" at Playwrights Horizons. (Photo by Joan Marcus)

Michael R. Jackson Wins 2020 Drama Pulitzer Prize for ‘A Strange Loop’

The finalists are Will Arbery and David Henry Hwang & Jeanine Tesori.

NEW YORK CITY: The Pulitzer committee has announced the recipients of the 2020 Pulitzer Prizes. The Pulitzer Prize for drama, with a $15,000 cash prize, was awarded to Michael R. Jackson for A Strange Loop. This year’s finalists were Will Arbery for Heroes of the Fourth Turning and David Henry Hwang and Jeanine Tesori for Soft PowerJackson’s is just one of 10 musicals to take home the Drama Pulitzer.

Michael R. Jackson in a presentation with the Musical Theatre Factory at Joe’s Pub.

During the awards ceremony, which was streamed on YouTube, Pulitzer Prize administrator Dana Canedy described A Strange Loop as “a metaphysical musical that tracks the creative process of an artist transforming issues of identity, race, and sexuality that pushed him to the margins of the cultural mainstream into a meditation on universal human fears and insecurities.”

The Pulitzer Prize was established in 1917 by Joseph Pulitzer and recognizes achievements in journalism, literature, drama, and music composition. The award is administered by Columbia University.

A just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. If you are able, please join us in this mission by making a donation. As we reckon with the impact of COVID-19, the theatre field needs committed and nuanced journalism. Free and unlimited access to is one way that we and our publisher, Theatre Communications Group, are eliminating barriers to crucial resources during this crisis. When you support American Theatre and TCG, you support these emergency resources and our long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard