ADV – Leaderboard

Awards for March 2013

Daniel Pearle wins the Laurents/Hatcher Foundation Award, Stephen Colbert is honored by Lookingglass Theatre Company, and more awards from our March 2013 issue.

A Kid Like Jake by Daniel Pearle has won the 2013 Laurents/Hatcher Foundation Award. The prize comes with $50,000 for the playwright, and $100,000 towards the production cost for the show’s premiere, which will be at Lincoln Center Theater in June.

The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation gave out a total of $3.7 million for 14 playwrights to be in residence at theatres for three years, complete with salaries and benefits. The recipients are  David Adjmi, Luis Alfaro, Pearl Cleage, Marcus GardleyDan LeFranc, Nathan Louis Jackson, Melinda Lopez, Julie Marie Myatt, Robert O’Hara, Peter Sinn Nachtrieb, Qui Nguyen, Kira Obolensky, Will Power  and Andrew Saito.

Caroline V. McGraw has been awarded the 10th annual P73 Playwriting Fellow, presented by Page 73 Productions in New York. McGraw received $10,000 and will have a year of artistic and development support.

In December, Kelly Stuart won the Armenian Dramatic Arts Alliance 3rd Biennial William Saroyan Prize for her play Belonging to the Sky. The prize came with $10,000. Sevan Kaloustian Greene and Adriana Sevahn Nichols were finalists for the award.

P.S. 122 has awarded Mike Iveson the 2013 Ethyl Eichelberger Award, which comes with a $5,000

Eight theatre artists were inducted into the 42nd annual American Theatre Hall of Fame in January at the Gershwin Theatre in New York City. They are: Betty Buckley, Trevor Nunn, Christopher Durang, Paula Vogel, Andre Bishop, Michael Kahn, Sam Waterston, and Martin Pakledinaz.

Mike Lew
Mike Lew

Alliance Theatre in Atlanta has announced the 2013 Alliance National Graduate Playwriting Competition winner: Bike America by Mike Lew. The play premiered in February at the theatre. Also during that month, the four finalists of the competition were given free staged readings: Absence by Peter M. Floyd, Roman Candle Summer by Neeley Gossett, River City by Diana Grisanti and Annie Bosh is Missing by Janine Nabers.

Lighting designer Aaron Porter will be presented with the 2013 USITT Rising Star Award at the USITT 2013 Annual Conference & Stage Expo. The award is sponsored by LDI2013/Live Design magazine and focuses on young designers.

Olympia Dukakis received the Commonwealth Award in February, presented by the Massachusetts Cultural Council, for her artistic contributions to the state’s community, economy and quality of life.

The Eugene O’Neill Theater Center will pre­sent the 13th annual Monte Cristo Award to Christopher Plummer in April, in recognition of his theatre career, including his Tony-winning Broadway performances in Barrymore and Cyrano.

Stephen Colbert will receive the Lookingglass Civic Engagement Award at Lookingglass Theatre Company’s “gglassquerade” this month in Chicago. Colbert is the host of the Comedy Central TV show “The Colbert Report.”

24th Street Theatre in Los Angeles was given an official commendation at a City Hall ceremony in January, for its educational programming. Council member Jan Perry presented 24th Street artistic director Debbie Devine and executive director Jay McAdams with the honor.

Cincinnati Playhouse in the Park has appointed three associate artists, who will be in residence at the playhouse for the next two seasons. Timothy Douglas, KJ Sanchez and Michael Evan Haney were selected, and will each direct two productions at the theatre.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard