ADV – Leaderboard

Performance Network Theatre's 'A Little Night Music.' (Photo by Sean Carter)

Awards for October 2013

FringeNYC announces its 2013 Overall Excellence Awards, New Dramatists adds seven new writers to its residency program, Terrence McNally is honored at a multi-day celebration at Skylight Theatre, and more prizes and awards from our December 2013 issue.

The 2013 Wilde Awards, honoring Michigan theatre, took place in August. Among the winners was the Williamston Theatre, which won two awards (best comedy and props) for its production of boom and two (best actor in a comedy, John Manfredi, and sound/video design by Jason Painter Price) for End Days, a co-production with the Jewish Ensemble Theatre Company. A Little Night Music from Performance Network Theatre won four awards: best musical, best actor in a musical (John Seibert) and actress in a musical (Naz Edwards) and best music direction (R. MacKenzie Lewis).

The 2013 PEN Literary Awards will be held this month; 16 prizes totaling $150,000 will be given to writers, editors and translators. Among the playwrights honored are Larry Kramer and Kirsten Greenidge, who will each receive $7,500.

Samuel French has announced the six winners of its 38th annual Off-Off-Broadway Short Play Festival, which will be published in French’s annual Off-Off-Broadway anthology. The winners are Dancing Turtle by Thomas M. Atkinson, Tornado by Arlitia Jones, Tattoo You by Lisa Kenner, Reality Play by Mark Swaner, Frisky & the Panda Man by Ross Howard and Old Flame by Mira Gibson.

The multidisciplinary HOLA Awards will be presented this month in New York City by the Hispanic Organization of Latin Actors. The winners in the theatre category include Felix Solis for his performance in Basilica at Rattlestick Playwrights Theater, Liza Colón-Zayas for her performance in Water by the Spoonful at Second Stage Theater, and an ensemble award for the cast of Bésame mucho at Repertorio Español.

FringeNYC has announced the recipients of its 2013 Overall Excellence Awards. Among the winners in the play category were Kemble’s Riot by Adrian Bunting, Ndebele Funeral by Zoey Martinson and Waiting for Waiting for Godot by Dave Hanson.

New York City’s New Dramatists has added seven writers to its ranks; they will be in residence through 2020. The playwrights are Carla Ching, Jennifer Haley, Samuel D. Hunter, Chisa Hutchinson, Kristen Kosmas, Mona Mansour and Mark Schultz.


Adventure Stage Chicago founder and producing artistic director Tom Arvetis is the 2013 recipient of the Orlin Corey Award for artistic excellence, presented by the American Alliance for Theatre and Education. The prize is for work in theatre for young audiences, and Arvetis was recognized for directing Marco Ramirez’s Six Stories Tall at ASC.

Playwright Terrence McNally was honored in a four-day celebration at Los Angeles’s Skylight Theatre Company in September. The first-ever Skylight Salute for notable American playwrights included a dinner, an industry panel on McNally’s career, a reading of his new play It’s Only a Play, and a master class taught by McNally.

The Shakespeare Theatre Company in Washington, D.C., is hosting its annual gala this month. Among its awards recipients are Elizabeth McGovern, who will receive the William Shakespeare Award for her work in classical theatre, and audit company KPMG, LLP, which will be given the Sidney Harman Award for philanthropy in the arts.

At the Houston-based Ensemble Theatre’s annual gala in August, eight awards were given out. Among the winners were Marla Gibbs , who received the lifetime achievement award; Kim Coles, named actress of the year; and Mykel Yowman, receiving the rising star award.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard