ADV – Leaderboard

Dramatists Guild Announces 2015 Award Winners

Annie Baker, Jeanine Tesori, Charles Fuller, Chisa Hutchinson and A.R. Gurney will take home prizes at the organization’s annual awards ceremony.

NEW YORK CITY: The Dramatists Guild of America has announced the winners of its annual awards, to be given out at a ceremony on Feb. 23 at the Harvard Club. This year’s recipients include Annie Baker, Jeanine Tesori, Charles Fuller, Chisa Hutchinson and A.R. Gurney.

A.R. Gurney
A.R. Gurney

Annie Baker will receive the Hull-Warriner Award for her play The Flick. The prize recognizes a playwright whose works deal with controversial political, religious or social subjects.

Jeanine Tesori will receive the Frederick Loewe Award for dramatic composition for her musical Fun Home. The Flora Roberts Award for distinguished work in the theatre will go to Charles Fuller. The Lanford Wilson Award for early-career work will go to Chisa Hutchinson. Finally, A.R. Gurney will take home the Lifetime Achievement Award.

In addition to the artistic prizes, the Dramatists Legal Defense Fund will present the second annual DLDF Defender Award to theatre consultant (and former American Theatre Wing president) Howard Sherman, for his work in championing free expression.

The awards ceremony will be hosted by playwright David Henry Hwang. The Dramatists Guild is the advocacy organization for  playwrights, composers, lyricists and librettists.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard