ADV – Leaderboard

Playwrights Kristoffer Diaz, Lucas Hnath and Dan O’Brien Named Guggenheim Fellows

Writers of ‘The Elaborate Entrance of Chad Diety,’ ‘The Christians’ and ‘The Body of an American,’ respectively, receive the midcareer honor.

Kristoffer Diaz. (Photo by Emili Panian)
Kristoffer Diaz. (Photo by Emili Panian)

NATIONWIDE: Among the recipients of 2015 Guggenheim Fellowships are playwrights Kristoffer Diaz, Lucas Hnath and Dan O’Brien. The fellowship, often characterized as a “midcareer” honor, is in its 91st year of contention for artists in the United States and Canada. This year 173 fellowships were named by the John Simon Guggenheim Memorial Foundation, including two joint Fellowships, to a total of 175 scholars, artists and scientists. Appointed on the basis of prior achievement and exceptional promise, the successful candidates were chosen from a group of more than 3,100 applicants.

Guggenheim fellowships are awarded through two annual competitions: one open to citizens and permanent residents of the United States and Canada, and the other open to citizens and permanent residents of Latin America and the Caribbean. Candidates must apply to the Guggenheim Foundation in order to be considered in either of these competitions.

The Guggenheim does not disclose the amount of money bestowed on fellows, which they are free to spend in any way they deem best supports their work.

A just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. If you are able, please join us in this mission by making a donation. As we reckon with the impact of COVID-19, the theatre field needs committed and nuanced journalism. Free and unlimited access to is one way that we and our publisher, Theatre Communications Group, are eliminating barriers to crucial resources during this crisis. When you support American Theatre and TCG, you support these emergency resources and our long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard