ADV – Leaderboard

Carrie Coon and Florencia Lozano in Playwrights Horizons 2015 production of "Placebo," by Melissa James Gibson. (Photo by Joan Marcus.)

International Centre for Women Playwrights Announces 2015 Applause Awards

Recipients include theatres in South Africa, Australia, and Indonesia.

BUFFALO, N.Y.: The International Centre for Women Playwrights (ICWP) announced the winners of the 2015 50/50 Applause Awards on Monday. The awards recognized more than 60 theatres that programmed at least 50 percent of the productions in their 2014–15 seasons with works by female playwrights. Nine countries are represented in the list of recipients, and one-third of recognized theatres have received Applause Awards in previous years.

In spite of recent efforts toward gender parity in the theatre,  works by female playwrights make up less than 25 percent of international productions, according to the ICWP. In the United States, only 22 percent of plays produced between 2011 and 2014 were written by women, up from 18 percent in 2009.

Award recipients include New York’s Playwrights HorizonsTheatre Passe Muraille in Toronto, and the Keluarga Teater in South Jakarta, Indonesia.

More information about the 50/50 Applause Awards, including a complete list of recipients, can be found here.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard