ADV – Leaderboard

Winners of Helen Merrill Playwriting Awards Announced

Early-, mid-, and late-career artists will each receive $25,000 for their achievements.

Helen Merrill
Helen Merrill

NEW YORK CITY: Members of the New York Community Trust have announced the recipients of this year’s Helen Merrill Awards. Award winners—a diverse group of emerging, mid-career, and established playwrights—were selected  by a committee of theatre professionals for their artistic accomplishments and potential. Each will receive a cash prize of $25,000.

Honored among the emerging playwrights are Matt Moses (Emperor of Ice Cream or Thirteen Ways of Looking at Donald Rumsfeld), Qui Nguyen (VietGone), Max Posner (Judy), Lisa Ramirez (All Fall Down), Jen Silverman (The Roommate), and Stefani Zadravec (Colony Collapse). Also rewarded for their work are the mid-career playwrights David Grimm (Kit Marlowe) and Keith Josef Adkins (The People Before the Park) and established artists Arthur Kopit (Oh Dad, Poor Dad, Mamma’s Hung You in the Closet and I’m Feelin’ So Sad) and Emily Mann (Still Life).

“Helen Merrill came to us to ensure that her legacy would be carried out in the way that she wanted, as we have done for so many generous New Yorkers,” said Gay Young, vice president of donor services at The New York Community Trust, in a statement. “We think Ms. Merrill would be extremely happy to know that her unwavering support and dedication to the theatre lives on.”

The awards, named for the late theatrical agent, photographer, and playwriting mentor Helen Merrill, were established in 2000. Previous award winners include Will Eno, Sarah Ruhl, Wallace Shawn, and Amy Herzog.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by joining TCG, which entitles you to copies of our quarterly print magazine and helps support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism.

ADV – Billboard