ADV – Leaderboard

SDCF Awards Hannah Ryan With Denham Fellowship

Ryan’s ‘Every Path’ will be featured in La Jolla Playhouse’s 2015 Without Walls Festival.

Hannah Ryan
Hannah Ryan

NEW YORK CITY: The Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation (SDCF) has announced that director Hannah Ryan will receive the 2015-2016 Denham Fellowship. The award, granted annually to female directors of distinction, includes $2,500 in financial support for a particular theatrical project.

Ryan has directed at the New York Theatre Workshop, Point Loma Playhouse, and Barrington Stage Company. She is awarded the Denham Fellowship for Every Path, a multidisciplinary work inspired by excerpts from Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar and Joanna Newsom’s “Baby Birch” that combines elements of sculpture, performance art, original music, and contemporary dance. Every Path, a site-specific coproduction with La Jolla Playhouse and Moxie Theatre, will run from Oct. 9–10 as a part of La Jolla’s Without Walls Festival.

The Dunham Fellowship was established in 2006 by Mary Orr Denham in honor of Reginald H. F. Denham, her late husband. Past recipients include directors Rachel Alderman (Ether Dome, The Alley Theatre), May Adrales (Edith Can Shoot Things and Hit Them, Actors Theatre of Louisville), and Bridget Leak (Slut Shaming, Cincinnati Fringe Festival).

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard