ADV – Leaderboard

8 Playwrights Receive ‘Exit’ Grants as They Graduate From EST’s Youngblood

The grants, made possible by playwright Robert Askins, will be awarded to Lucy Gillespie, Paul Cameron Hardy, Martyna Majok, among others.

Martyna Majok.
Martyna Majok.

NEW YORK CITY: Ensemble Studio Theatre has named the eight recipients of its inaugural “exit” commissioning grant program, awarded to playwrights as they turn 30 and leave EST’s Youngblood program, which is dedicated to under-30 writers.

This year’s graduating playwrights, each receiving a grant of $1,000, are Lucy Gillespie, Paul Cameron Hardy, Patrick Link, Martyna Majok, Anna Moench, Ana Nogueira, Jen Silverman, and Emily Chadick Weiss. The funds for the grants were donated by Tony-nominated playwright and Youngblood alumnus Robert Askins (Hand to God).

Youngblood also announced the new playwrights admitted into the program, including Brittany K. Allen, Cary Gitter, Amanda Keating, Sylvia Khoury, Claire Kiechel, Andrew Massey, Catya McMullen, Ming Peiffer, Christina Quintana, Rebecca Schlossberg, and Kristin Slaney.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard