ADV – Leaderboard

United Solo Festival Announces 2015 Winners

The festival closed its sixth season of performance by handing out 40 competitive awards, plus an honorary award to James Lecesne.

James Lecesne
James Lecesne

NEW YORK CITY: The United Solo Festival recently completed its sixth season, which featured 150 solo productions from six continents over the course of 10 weeks.

Festival participants also competed for awards in 40 categories. In addition, James Lecesne received the honorary United Solo Special Award for his contributions to the solo art form. Upon receiving his award from festival founder and artistic director Omar Sangare, Lecesne said, “I really applaud you all for using your voice, speaking out, and telling your stories. It’s the greatest thing you can do in your life. Thank you so much for this honor.” Previous awards recipients include Anna Deavere Smith, Patti LuPone, John Leguizamo, Fiona Shaw, and Billy Crystal.

United Solo is the world’s largest solo theatre festival, having presented more than 600 shows in its six-year history. It’s currently taking submissions for its 2016 season, visit

The complete 2015 winners list is below.

Best Production
Uncle Philip’s Coat by Matty Selman, directed by David Spital

Best Direction
Risa Brainin for That Wonder Boy

Best One-Man Show
That Wonder Boy by Bob Stromberg

Best One-Woman Show
One Funny Mother: I’m Not Crazy!! by Dena Blizzard

Best Encore
Beyond Words by Bill Bowers, directed by Scott Illingworth

The United Solo & Backstage Audience Award
That Wonder Boy by Bob Stromberg

Best Actor for Alfredo Tauste
The last call. A micro-play from a story by Jean Cocteau

Best Actress for Anna Bridgforth
The Good Adoptee

Best Comedian for Joe Gulla

Best Storyteller for Shaun O’Hagan
It’s Later Than I Think

Best International Show
Marilyn-After performed by Nonnie Griffin

Best Drama
Do You Know Me? performed by Mina Samuels

Best Comedy
Auditions, Zoe’s Auditions performed by Suzanna Geraghty

Best Musical
RACHEL CALOF: A MEMOIR WITH MUSIC performed by Kate Fuglei

Best Documentary Show
Tiananmen Annie performed by Ann Starbuck

Best Biographical Show
Oh Sarah! performed by Edith Acker

Best Autobiographical Show
Smoker performed by Bob Brader

Best Physical Theatre Show
Butoh Medea performed by Yokko

Best Period Piece
Work is the Curse of the Drinking Classes performed by Johnson Flucker

Best Satire
The Legend of Sleepy Hollow—retold by Jonathan Kruk

Best Stand-Up
Chasing Ballerinas: A Coming of Gay Story performed by Quinn Marcus

Best Poetry Show
Namely Muscles performed by Claire Porter

Best Experimental Show
Jeremiah’s Tuesday created by Stefan Mrowinski & Steven Kennedy

Best Non-Fiction Show
3 MEN performed by Mike Folie

Best Avant-Garde Show
Oh My Goddess! performed by Sherry Glaser

Best Educational Show
She Gon’ Learn performed by Lisa Strum

Best Dramatic Script
Move on the Cha-Cha’s written and performed by Diane Ripstein

Best Comedic Script
It’s About Time written and performed by Steve Belanger

Best Adaptation
Angry Conversations With God written and performed by Susan E Isaacs

Best Non-Fiction Script
The Miracle of Long Johns written and performed by David Lefkowitz

Best Documentary Script
Marília written and performed by Rogério M. Pinto

Best Biographical Script
BRIGHT SWORDS written by Rick Creese, performed by Ryan Vincent Anderson

Best Storytelling Script
All Aboard written and performed by Tulis McCall

Best Autobiographical Script
The Good Adoptee written by Suzanne Bachner, performed by Anna Bridgforth

Best Premiere
YEAH, THAT HAPPENED written and performed by Nic Rafello

Best Emerging Actor
Clyde Engle in Don’t Cry for Me Banks of Wall Street

Best Emerging Actress
April Dae Rochon in I’mma Do Me

Best Festival Debut
Clipping In performed by Terrence S. Gray

Best Choreography
Wolf Red performed by Elinor Randle, directed by Yorgos Karamalegos

Best Sound Design
Behind the Random Denominator created by Mart Sander

Best Lighting Design
The last call created by Alfredo Tauste & Rafael Abolafia

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by joining TCG, which entitles you to copies of our quarterly print magazine and helps support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism.

ADV – Billboard