ADV – Leaderboard

3 Playwrights Receive 2016 Windham-Campbell Prizes

Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, Hannah Moscovitch, and Abbie Spallen will each receive $150,000.


NEW HAVEN, CONN.: Beinecke Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Yale University has announced the winners of its annual Windham-Campbell Prize, which recognizes individuals in literature and theatre. Of the nine winners, the playwrights are Branden Jacobs-Jenkins, Hannah Moscovitch, and Abbie Spallen, who will each receive a cash prize of $150,000.

Jacobs-Jenkins’s work includes An Octoroon and Appropriate. Canadian dramatist Moscovitch’s work includes East of BerlinWhat a Young Wife Ought to Know, and Little One. Irish playwright Spallen’s plays include Lally the Scut and Pumpgirl.

A complete list of winners can be found on the website. The Windham-Campbell Prize, awarded since 2013, is named after writer Donald Windham and his partner, publisher Sandy Campbell.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard