ADV – Leaderboard

NYFA Announces Artists’ Fellowship Program Recipients and Finalists

Playwrights and choreographers receive cash rewards of $7,000.

NEW YORK CITY: The New York Foundation for the Arts (NYFA) has announced the recipients and finalists of its Artists’ Fellowship Program, which gives cash grants to artists working in different concentrations across New York, including choreographers and playwrights. A total of $647,000 was awarded.

“This year’s fellows range from 26 to 80 years in age, reflecting NYFA’s endeavor to support artists during all walks of life and encourage them in their creative careers to concentrate on what they do best: create art and inspire all of us in the process,” said NYFA executive director Michael L. Royce in a statement. “We are grateful for the leadership support of the New York State Council on the Arts and our other funders, which enables us to continuously contribute to the thriving New York State arts scene by supporting its most essential member: the artist.”

Sibyl Kempson
Sibyl Kempson

Fellowship recipients are awarded unrestricted cash grants of $7,000. Marie Poncé, who was awarded a fellowship in choreography, says that the grant “turns limits into opportunities” and expands her “credibility as a Native American, female artist who excels in a male-dominated dance form (American Indian Hoop).”

Major funding is also provided by the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs (DCLA). Additional funding is provided by the Lily Auchincloss Foundation, the Milton & Sally Avery Arts Foundation, Deutsche Bank Americas Foundation, and individual donors.

A complete list of fellows and finalists in choreography and playwriting/screenwriting is below.

luciana achugar (New York)
Evvie Allison (New York)
Michelle Boulé (New York)
Abigail Browde / Michael Silverstone (New York)
Yanira Castro (Kings)
Fritz Donnelly (New York)
Jeanine Durning (Orange)
Daria Rachel Faïn / Robert Kocik (New York)
Reggie Gray (Kings)
Raja Feather Kelly (New York)
Juliana F. May (New York)
Marie Poncé (New York)
Kota Yamazaki (New York)
André M. Zachery (New York)

Walter Dundervill (New York)
Alexander Escalante (Kings)
Koosil-ja (New York)

Choreography Panelists
Jonathan Gonzalez (Queens)
Iréne Hultman (Kings)
Stefanie Nelson (New York)
Arturo Vidich (Kings)
Gwen Welliver (New York)

Bogdan George Apetri (New York)
Kathryn Benson (Kings)
Sheila Curran Bernard (Albany)
Clarence Coo (New York)
Kate Cortesi (New York)
Jorge Ignacio Cortiñas (New York)
Migdalia Cruz (Westchester)
Kimberly Davies (New York)
Jillian Eddy (New York)
Arlene Hutton (New York)
Sibyl Kempson (New York)
Carolyn E. Kourofsky (Monroe)
Winter Miller (New York)
JT Rogers (Westchester)
Betty Shamieh (New York)
Peggy Shaw (New York)
Lloyd Suh (Kings)
Melisa Tien (New York)
Ken Urban (New York)
Catherine Yu (New York)
Joshua Sanchez (Kings)

Keith J. Adkins (New York)
Jennie Allen (Greene)
Lameece Issaq (New York)

Playwriting / Screenwriting Panelists
Moon Molson (New York)
Carl Hancock Rux (New York)
Emily Morse (New York)
Maggie Mancinelli Cahill (Albany)
Jay Scheib (New York)

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard