ADV – Leaderboard

SDC Foundation Announces Joe A. Callaway Award Winners

The annual award recognizes excellence in direction and choreography during the New York theatre season.

NEW YORK CITY: Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation (SDCF) has announced the 2015-2016 Joe A. Callaway award winners and the recipient of the 2015-2016 Breakout Award. The honorees received their awards at a ceremony  on Monday at the Laurie Beechman Theatre.

Ed Sylvanus Iskandar backstage at The 27th Annual Joe A. Callaway Award at the Laurie Beechman Theatre on October 24, 2016 in New York City.
Ed Sylvanus Iskandar 

Sarah Benson received the Joe A. Callaway Award for her direction of Futurity, produced by Soho Rep and Ars Nova, and James Walski received the award for his choreography of Trip of Love at Stage 42. Director Ed Sylvanus Iskandar received the Breakout Award, which recognizes an individual director or choreographer whose body of work shows promise, energy, and originality in New York and beyond.

The Joe A. Callaway Awards are given out annually and recognize excellence in direction and choreography in the New York City theatre season. The prize is the only one given by professional directors and choreographers to their peers for work on a specific production.

A just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. If you are able, please join us in this mission by making a donation. As we reckon with the impact of COVID-19, the theatre field needs committed and nuanced journalism. Free and unlimited access to is one way that we and our publisher, Theatre Communications Group, are eliminating barriers to crucial resources during this crisis. When you support American Theatre and TCG, you support these emergency resources and our long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard