ADV – Leaderboard

Sarah DeLappe, Jaisey Bates Win Play Prizes from Marin Theatre

They’re the recipients, respectively, of an award for a new American play and for an emerging American playwright.

Sarah DeLappe

MILL VALLEY, CALIF.: Marin Theatre Company has announced the winner of its new play prizes. Sarah DeLappe has won the 2016 Sky Cooper New American Play Prize for The Wolves, and Jaisey Bates has won the 2016 David Colicchio Emerging American Playwright Prize for The Day We Were Born. MTC will produce The Wolves as part of its 2017-18 season.

“It’s an incredible honor to receive the Sky Cooper New American Play Prize,” said DeLappe in a statement. “I’m delighted by [MTC artistic director Jasson Minadakis] and the entire staff’s passionate belief in the play, and am very excited to work with them and [director] Morgan Green on the West Coast premiere.” The prize was established in 2007 by Norton J. “Sky” Cooper and is awarded annually for an outstanding new work. It also comes with $10,000. The Wolves was also recently named a 2017 Pulitzer finalist for drama.

Cooper also established the Emerging American Playwright Prize in 2007, in honor of playwright David Calicchio. It recognizes an emerging American playwright. Bates will receive $2,500 and two public staged readings of The Day We Were Born. “I can’t express what meeting you all [at MTC] did for me,” said Bates in a statement. “It changed my life. I went from being completely alone and wondering if all of these words were worthy of anyone other than me, to having everyone at MTC welcome me. Thank you.”

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard