ADV – Leaderboard

Josh Groban in "Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812." (Photo by Chad Batka)

‘Great Comet’ Actors and More Receive Theatre World Awards

Actors will be honored in June for their debut performances on Broadway and Off Broadway.

NEW YORK CITY: The Theatre World Awards board of directors and the Dorothy Loudon Foundation have announced the performers who will be honored at the Theatre World Awards on June 5. The annual awards celebrate Broadway and Off-Broadway debut performances. Out of the 12 honorees, three are from the cast of Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet of 1812: Josh Groban, Denée Benton, and Amber Gray. The show’s composer and writer, Dave Malloy, will receive a special award.

The other honorees are Carlo Albán (Sweat), Christy Altomare (Anastasia), Jon Jon Briones (Miss Saigon), Barrett Doss (Groundhog Day), Lucas Hedges (Yen),  Raymond Lee (Vietgone), Eva Noblezada (Miss Saigon), Jeremy Secomb (Sweeney Todd), and Cobie Smulders (Present Laughter).  

In addition to those honorees, the Theatre World Awards will also present three special awards. Katrina Lenk (IndecentThe Band’s Visit) will receive the Dorothy Loudon Award for Excellence in the Theatre, Glenn Close (Sunset Boulevard) will receive the John Willis Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theatre, and Dave Malloy will receive the Special Theatre World Award for his work on Great Comet as its composer, writer, lyricist, orchestrator, and actor.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard