ADV – Leaderboard

New Dramatists Announces 8 Playwriting Residents

Johnna Adams, Boni B. Alvarez, Kirk Wood Bromley, Morgan Gould, MJ Kaufman, Aya Ogawa, Jiehae Park, and Andrea Stolowit will be in residence through 2024.

NEW YORK CITY: New Dramatists has announced that eight writers will join its resident playwright company. Johnna Adams, Boni B. Alvarez, Kirk Wood Bromley, Morgan Gould, MJ Kaufman, Aya Ogawa, Jiehae Park, and Andrea Stolowitz will be in residence with New Dramatists through 2024. A committee of New Dramatists current residents, alumni, and theatre professionals selected these writers from 415 applications.

Adams is based in Astoria, N.Y., and has had five productions with Flux Theatre Ensemble in New York City. She received the Steinberg/American Theatre Critics Association Citation for her play Gidion’s Knot in 2013, and she was a finalist for the Susan Smith Blackburn Prize in 2012.

Alvarez is based in Los Angeles, and his plays have been produced and developed at Playwrights’ Arena, Center Theatre Group, Los Angeles Theatre Center, and Oregon Shakespeare Festival. He was a finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award and Clubbed Thumb’s Biennial Commission.

Bromley is based in New York City, and he has written about 30 plays that have been produced by Aaron Beall, FoolsFury, Bad Epitaph, Sacred Fools, and Inverse Theater, where he is artistic director. Bromley and Inverse have won Best Downtown Theater Company (NY Press 2001), the Berrilla Kerr Foundation Playwriting Award, three NY Fringe Festival Excellence Awards, and the first Caffe Cino Award (NY Innovative Theatre Awards 2005).

Gould is based in New York City, and she has worked at Playscripts, Inc.; Lark Play Development Center; Cape Cod Theatre Project; and Young Jean Lee’s Theater Company, where she co-created Untitled Feminist Show and worked alongside Young Jean on the premieres of Lear and We’re Gonna Die. She created her theatre company, Morgan Gould & Friends, in 2012, and their work has been produced at the New Ohio Theatre, Dixon Place, the Brooklyn Lyceum, HERE Arts Center, Ars Nova, New Georges, and more.

Kaufman is based in New York City and Philadelphia, and their work as been seen at Huntington Theatre, New York Theatre Workshop, the New Museum, Clubbed Thumb, New Georges, Page73, Colt Coeur, Yale School of Drama, Lark Play Development Center, Bay Area Playwrights Festival, Aurora Theatre, and Crowded Fire. They received the 2013 ASCAP Cole Porter Prize in playwriting, the 2013 Global Age Project Prize, and the 2010 Jane Chambers Prize in Feminist Theatre.

Ogawa is based in Brooklyn, and she focuses on creating works with multiple perspectives and languages and includes style, form, and content influences from outside the U.S. She wrote and directed oph3lia at HERE, Journey to the Ocean, commissioned by the Foundry Theatre; and most recently Ludic Proxy, commissioned by The Play Company,

Park is based in New York, and her play peerless has been produced at Yale Repertory Theatre, Cherry Lane Theatre, Marin Theatre Complany, Barrington Stage, Company One, and Moxie. She is also the author of Hannah and the Dread Gazebo and Here We Are Here, and she is the recipient of the Princess Grace Award and has spent two years on the Kilroys list.

Stolowitz’s latest play, Berlin Diary, was produced at English Theatre Berlin/International Performing Arts Center and Coho Theater in Portland. She works with the theatre company Hand2Mouth Theatre, and her current collaboration with the company, Pep Talk, is touring nationally.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard