ADV – Leaderboard

League of Professional Theatre Women Announces 2018 Awards

This year’s winners include Phylicia Rashad, Linda Winer, Cricket S. Myers, Rohina Malik, and Adrienne Campbell-Holt.

NEW YORK CITY: The League of Professional Theatre Women (LPTW) has announced the recipients of the 2018 Theater Women Awards. The awards will be presented on Friday, March 16th at the TimesCenter in NYC. 

The annual Theatre Women Awards are the only awards which recognize the contributions of female-identifying theatremakers to their field and promote the visibility of their work. The awards fit with the mission of LPTW, which has been leading the conversation on gender parity and creating opportunities for women in the industry for over 35 years.

Linda Winer.

The recipients of this year’s Theatre Women Awards are:

Phylicia Rashad, who will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award for her outstanding performances on both stage and screen.

Drama critic Linda Winer, former chief theatre critic for Newsday, will receive the LPTW Special Award. The honor is given to a female theatremaker in recognition of her service to the league and her field.

Sound designer Cricket S. Myers will receive the Morley Award for her highly acclaimed design work in Los Angeles. The award is given to an outstanding female designer, in honor of costume designer and former LPTW board member Ruth Morley.

Playwright Rohina Malik, a resident playwright at Chicago Dramatists, will receive the Lee Reynolds Award. The award, in honor of producer and League member Lee Reynolds, is given to women whose work in theatre pushes for social, cultural, or political change.

Adrienne Campbell-Holt, a director and the founding artistic director of Colt Coeur, will receive the LPTW Lucille Lortel Award and the theatre company will receive a grant. The award and grant are made possible by an endowment form Lucille Lortel and awarded to an up-and-coming theatre professional who shows great creative promise worthy of encouragement.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard