ADV – Leaderboard

The cast of "School Girls; or, The African Mean Girls Play" accepts the award for Outstanding Play in a tie onstage during the 33rd Annual Lucille Lortel Awards on May 6, 2018 in New York City. (Photo by Jemal Countess/Getty Images for Lucille Lortel Awards)

33rd Annual Lucille Lortel Awards Announced

The annual awards recognize both ‘Cost of Living’ and ‘School Girls’ in the play category, and ‘KPOP’ as a musical.

NEW YORK CITY: The 2018 Lucille Lortel Awards for outstanding achievement Off-Broadway were awarded on May 6 to recipients in 19 categories. The coveted Outstanding Play award ended in a tie, with both Cost of Living and School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play recognized. Mary Jane received three awards, as did KPOP, which won Outstanding Musical. Directed by Michael Heitzman for the ninth consecutive year, this year’s event was once again a benefit for the Actor’s Fund, and was hosted by Laura Benanti and Jeremy Shamos.

Award presenters at this year’s ceremony included Jelani Alladin, Lauren Ambrose, Mike Birbiglia, Adam Chanler-Berat, Brandon Victor Dixon, Michael Esper, Tina Fey, Santino Fontana, Denise Gough, Michael Greif, Harry Hadden-Paton, Marg Helgenberger, Marilu Henner, Erika Henningsen, Joshua Henry, Grey Henson, Lisa Howard, Joshua Jackson, Carol Kane, Andy Karl, LaChanze, Katrina Lenk, Taylor Louderman, Kristin Maldonado, Beth Malone, Lindsay Mendez, Patti Murin, Paul Alexander Nolan, Orfeh, Ashley Park, Zachary Quinto, Andrew Rannells, Condola Rashad, Patricia Richardson, Lauren Ridloff, Kate Rockwell, Will Roland, Tony Shalhoub, J. Smith-Cameron, Phillipa Soo, Ari’el Stachel, Nathan Stewart-Jarrett, and Barrett Wilbert Weed.

The Lucille Lortel Awards for Outstanding Achievement Off-Broadway were created in 1985 by the Off-Broadway League to honor the invaluable contribution of artists to the theatre community. The voting committee comprises representatives of the Off-Broadway League, Actors’ Equity Association, Stage Directors & Choreographers Society, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, in addition to theatre journalists and academics and other Off-Broadway professionals.

The complete list of winners is below:

Play (TIE)
The Cost of Living, written by Martyna Majok, produced by Manhattan Theatre Club in association with Williamstown Theatre Festival

School Girls; Or The African Mean Girls Play, written by Jocelyn Bioh, produced by MCC Theater

KPOP, conceived by Woodshed Collective and Jason Kim, book by Jason Kim, music and lyrics by Helen Park and Max Vernon, immersive design by Woodshed Collective, produced by Ars Nova in association with Ma-Yi Theater Company and Woodshed Collective

Jesus Hopped the ‘A’ Train, written by Stephen Adly Guirgis, produced by Signature Theatre

Solo Show
Harry Clarke, written by David Cale, performed by Billy Crudup, produced by Vineyard Theatre in association with Audible

Anne Kauffman, Mary Jane

Sonya Tayeh, The Lucky Ones

Lead Actor in a Play
Sean Carvajal, Jesus Hopped the ‘A’ Train

Lead Actress in a Play
Carrie Coon, Mary Jane

Lead Actor in a Musical
Damon Daunno, The Lucky Ones

Lead Actress in a Musical
Ashley Park, KPOP

Featured Actor in a Play
Gregg Mozgala, Cost of Living

Featured Actress in a Play
Mirirai Sithole, School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play

Featured Actor in a Musical
Jason Tam, KPOP

Featured Actress in a Musical
Tiffany Mann, Jerry Springer – The Opera

Scenic Design
Louisa Thompson, In The Blood

Costume Design
Dede M. Ayite, School Girls; Or, the African Mean Girls Play

Lighting Design
Alan C. Edwards, Harry Clarke

Sound Design
Leah Gelpe, Mary Jane

Projection Design
Hannah Wasileski, Pipeline

Lifetime Achievement Award
Eve Ensler

Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee
Michael Friedman

Outstanding Body of Work
WP Theater

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard