ADV – Leaderboard

Michaela Petro and Sam Guinan-Nyhart in "The Sweeter Option" at Strawdog Theatre Company. (Photo by Kyle Hamman/KBH Media)

Strawdog Theatre Company to Receive 2018 Non-Equity Special Jeff Award

The theatre company will be recognized for its 30 years as an innovative ensemble.

CHICAGO: The Jeff Awards have announced that their 2018 Non-Equity Special Award will be given to the Strawdog Theatre Company.

Founded in 1988, Strawdog is a theatre company known for its large ensemble, which has included more than 140 members and is dedicated to a mission of presenting “the whole wide world in a little black box” to its audiences. Over its 30 years of creating innovative new works, reimagined classics, and modern favorites, Strawdog has produced 31 world premieres, eight fully produced radio plays, seven Shakespeare plays, and three Chekhov classics.

Strawdog has previously been nominated for 61 Jeff Awards and won 24. The company has been recognized in all the Jeff Awards’ categories.

The 45th Annual Non-Equity Jeff Awards will take place on Mon., June 11 at the Athenaeum Theatre. Veronica Garza will host, and the awards will start at 7:30 p.m.

The Jeff Awards has been honoring outstanding theatre artists in the Chicago area annually since its founding in 1968. The awards are intended to encourage artistic development and theatrical pride in the area. Over 300 productions are reviewed and judged, culminating in two awards ceremonies, an Equity Wing and a Non-Equity Wing, the latter of which celebrates non-union theatre. The next Equity Awards will take place on Mon., Oct. 22 at the Drury Lane Oakbrook.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard