ADV – Leaderboard

Heidi Schreck (Photo by Tess Mayer). Amy Herzog.

Heidi Schreck and Amy Herzog Win Horton Foote Playwriting Award

The playwrights will each receive $12,500.

NEW YORK CITY: The Dramatists Guild of America has named Heidi Schreck and Amy Herzog as recipients of the Horton Foote Playwright Award. They will both receive the prize in a presentation in July, which comes with $12,500 for each of them. The award recognizes playwrights “whose work seeks to plumb the ineffable nature of being human,” according to a press release.

Schreck is a playwright and screenwriter. Her play What the Constitution Means to Me is currently running on Broadway, and she also wrote Grand Concourse. Her screenwriting credits include “I Love Dick,” “Billions,” and “Nurse Jackie.”

Amy Herzog’s plays include Mary Jane4000 Miles, and After the Revolution. 4000 Miles was a finalist for the Pulitzer Prize.

The prize is named after Pulitzer-winning and Oscar-winning playwright Horton Foote. It is sponsored by the Richenthal Foundation.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard