ADV – Leaderboard

Jeanine Tesori and Sarah DeLappe Named MacDowell Colony Fellows

Multiple theatre artists are among MacDowell Colony’s 79 fall fellows, who will receive an average of $10,000 and a fully funded residency.

PETERBOROUGH, N.H.: The MacDowell Colony has awarded fall fellowships to 79 artists, including Tony Award-winning composer Jeanine Tesori and Pulitzer Prize in Drama finalist Sarah DeLappe. Fellows receive an average value of $10,000 and are provided a private studio and accommodations for up to eight weeks.

Jeanine Tesori. (Photo by Rodolfo Martinez)

“MacDowell is honored to provide time and space at our bucolic property for these remarkable individuals to investigate, imagine, and create works of art,” said executive director Philip Himberg in a statement. “They represent a wide and diverse range of artistic voices, reflecting a truly diverse landscape of art makers in our country and across the globe.”

Theatre artist fellows include playwright Sarah DeLappe; Lisa Dring, associate artistic director of Circle X Theatre Co.; composer David Mallamud; puppeteer and designer Stevie Nemazee; Terry O’Reilly, artistic director of Mabou Mines; composer Jeanine Tesori; playwright LaDarrion Williams; playwright Gary Winter; and composer Zack Zadek.

A full list of fall fellows is available here.

Established in 1906, the mission of the MacDowell Colony is to nurture the arts by offering creative individuals an inspiring environment of multidisciplinary exchange. The MacDowell Colony awards more than 300 fellowships each year. The next application deadline is January 15, 2020 for the summer 2020 residency period.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard