ADV – Leaderboard

James Jackson, Larry Owens, L Morgan Lee, Antwayn Hopper in "A Strange Loop" at Playwrights Horizons. (Photo by Joan Marcus)

‘A Strange Loop’ Wins Lambda Literary Award

Finalists for the LGBTQ drama award include ‘The Amateurs’ by Jordan Harrison and ‘Dr. Ride’s American Beach House’ by Liza Birkenmeier.

LOS ANGELES: Lambda Literary has announced the finalists of its 32nd annual Lambda Literary Awards. The awards, which advance LGBTQ literature, will not be celebrated with an in-person awards ceremony because of COVID-19.

Winners were culled from more than 1,000 book submissions from more than 600 publishers across 24 categories. This year’s drama winner is A Strange Loop by Michael R. Jackson, produced by Playwrights Horizons and Page 73. The drama finalists include The Amateurs by Jordan Harrison, Samuel French, Inc.; and Dr. Ride’s American Beach House by Liza Birkenmeier, produced by Ars Nova.

“While the Lammys are indeed something to celebrate, this is also a time of outrage and grief caused by the pandemic and state-sanctioned violence against Black people,” said Lambda Literary in a statement. “At Lambda Literary, we believe that LGBTQ literature inspires the radical imagination needed to dismantle white supremacy and build a more equitable world. We are grateful to this year’s winners, whose work reflects a vast range of queer creativity, and we hope you can draw strength and insight from the writers honored today.”

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard