ADV – Leaderboard

Michael R. Jackson. (Photo by Zack DeZon)

Michael R. Jackson Wins Frederick Loewe Award

The Dramatists Guild of America recognizes the composer for his score of ‘A Strange Loop.’

NEW YORK CITY: The Dramatists Guild of America has named Michael R. Jackson this year’s recipient of the Frederick Loewe Award for the score of his musical A Strange Loop.

The annual award, given by the Frederick Loewe Foundation and presented by the Dramatists Guild Council, recognizes achievement in a theatrical score presented in New York during the previous theatrical season.

Jackson holds a BFA and MFA in playwriting and musical theatre writing from the NYU Tisch School of the Arts. As a songwriter, he has seen his work performed everywhere from Joe’s Pub to NAMT. He wrote book, music, and lyrics for the musical A Strange Loop, winner of the 2020 Pulitzer Prize in Drama, the 2020 Lambda Literary Award for LGBTQ Drama, and the New York Drama Critics Circle Award for Best Musical. He also wrote book, music, and lyrics for the upcoming White Girl in Danger, and lyrics and book for the musical adaptation of the 2007 horror film Teeth with composer and co-bookwriter Anna K. Jacobs. Awards and associations include: a New Professional Theatre Festival Award, a Jonathan Larson Grant, a Lincoln Center Emerging Artist Award, an ASCAP Foundation Harold Adamson Award, a Whiting Award, the Helen Merrill Award for Playwriting, a Dramatist Guild Fellowship and he is an alum of Page 73’s Interstate Writers Group. He has commissions from Grove Entertainment & Barbara Whitman Productions and LCT3 and is a newly elected member of the Dramatists Guild Council.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard