ADV – Leaderboard

Dramatists Guild to Present 2022 Awards

This year’s honorees include Sanaz Toossi, Jeanine Tesori, Alice Childress, Nancy Garcia Loza, Ren Dara Santiago, Kirsten Childs, and Martyna Majok, with lifetime achievement awards for Pearl Cleage and Tina Howe.

NEW YORK CITY: The Dramatists Guild of America has announced their 2022 award winners. There will be a public ceremony recognizing the 2021 and 2022 winners at Joe’s Pub tonight, Monday, July 25.  

Amanda Green, president of the Dramatists Guild, said in a statement, “The Guild is excited to honor such a brilliant and diverse group of dramatists. From new and necessary voices to writers who have been leading the way for many years, the slate of award recipients this year is one to celebrate.”  

The Horton Foote Award, presented to a dramatist whose work “seeks to plumb the ineffable nature of being human,” will be awarded to Sanaz Toossi. The Foote Award is sponsored by the Richenthal Foundation. 

The Frederick Loewe Award, which recognizes achievement in a music-theatre score presented in New York during the previous theatrical season, is being awarded to Jeanine Tesori for Kimberly Akimbo. 

The DLDF Defender Award, presented by the Dramatists Legal Defense Fund’s board in recognition of an individual or group’s efforts in support of free expression in the dramatic arts, is being awarded posthumously to Alice Childress, whose Trouble in Mind had its belated Broadway debut last fall.

The Lanford Wilson Award, recognizing a dramatist in their early career, goes to Nancy Garcia Loza and Ren Dara Santiago. 

The Dramatists Guild will also award two Lifetime Achievement Awards, to playwrights Pearl Cleage and Tina Howe.

These join a group of previously announced awards: The Flora Roberts Award, presented by the Dramatists Guild Foundation to a dramatist in recognition of distinguished work in the theatre and to encourage the continuation of that work, will be awarded to Kirsten Childs

The Hull-Warriner Award, presented annually by the Dramatists Guild Council to an author or team of authors in recognition of a play dealing with controversial and timely subjects, goes to Martyna Majok for Sanctuary City.

Tonight’s ceremony will also honor the 2021 recipients: Sharai Bohannon, who received the DLDF Defender Award; William S. Yellow Robe Jr., who received the Flora Roberts Award; and Mariam Bazeed and Rhiana Yazzie, who received the Lanford Wilson Prize. The Horton Foote Award was shared by Carla Ching, Kia Corthron, Aleshea Harris, Donja R. Love, and Mfoniso Udofia. The Dramatists Guild also gave out a Lifetime Achievement Award to Adrienne Kennedy.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by joining TCG, which entitles you to copies of our quarterly print magazine and helps support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism.

ADV – Billboard