ADV – Leaderboard

"Hamilton" by Lin-Manuel Miranda, at The Public Theater in New York City through Apr. 5. Pictured: Renee Elise Goldsberry, Lin-Manuel Miranda and Phillipa Soo. (Photo by Joan Marcus)

4 Theatre Artists to Receive Henry Hewes Design Awards

Designers from both ‘Hamilton’ and ‘The Invisible Hand’ will be celebrated.

NEW YORK CITY: The Henry Hewes Design Awards Committee has named four theatre artists to receive 2015 awards, which will be presented at a luncheon this fall. The annual awards recognize designers for work in scenic design, costume design, lighting design, and notable effects in venues on Broadway, Off Broadway, and Off Off Broadway.

The winners are Riccardo Hernandez for scenic design of The Invisible Hand at New York Theatre Workshop, Paul Tazewell for costume design of Hamilton at the Public Theater, Howell Binkley for lighting design of Hamilton, and Nevin Steinberg for notable effects in Hamilton.

The awards committee is comprised of theatre critics, and the 2015 honorees were selected from a pool of 66 nominated theatre artists from 49 productions that were presented in the 2014–15 season in New York City.

The Henry Hewes Design Awards, formerly known as Maharam Awards and later the American Theatre Design Awards, were established in 1965. They were renamed in 1999 for noted theatre critic Henry Hewes, who created the awards and served as a board member of the American Theatre Wing.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by becoming a member of TCG, which entitles you to copies of our quarterly print magazine and helps support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism.

ADV – Billboard