ADV – Leaderboard

The 2018 Jonathan Larson Grant recipients. Top left to right: Emily Kaczmarek, Mark Sonnenblick, Zoe Sarnak. Top bottom to right: Andrew Duncan Farmer, Jay Adana, Andrew R. Butler. (Courtesy of the American Theatre Wing)

American Theatre Wing Announces 2018 Jonathan Larson Grant Recipients

The recipients are Jay Adana, Andrew R. Butler and Andrew Farmer, Emily Kaczmarek and Zoe Sarnak, and Mark Sonnenblick.

NEW YORK CITY: The American Theatre Wing has announced the four recipients of the 2018 Jonathan Larson Grants, for emerging musical theatre writers. They are awarded to a mix of individuals and writing teams. The recipients are Jay Adana, Andrew R. Butler and Andrew Farmer, Emily Kaczmarek and Zoe Sarnak, and Mark Sonnenblick. The grants are $10,000 each, and also include residencies, concerts, and a $2,000 Saw Island Foundation Recording Grant.

This year’s recipients were selected by a panel that included two-time Tony Award-winning actor Patti LuPone, HERE Arts Center Artistic Director Kristin Marting, and two-time Tony-winning producer Scott Sanders. The prizes will be presented on March 19 at the WNYC Greene Space.

Jay Adana credits include The Woodsman (lyrics), and The Last Tiger in Haiti (music and lyrics).

Andrew R. Butler and Andrew Farmer have written four musicals together: Finn the FearlessBlessingThe Miraculous Journey of Edward Tulane, and American Cryptids.

Emily Kaczmarek and Zoe Sarnak have composed two musicals together: Afterwords and Afloat.

Mark Sonnenblick’s credits include Midnight at the Never GetIndependents, and Dragons Love Tacos.

Past recipients of the Larson Grants include Past recipients of the Larson Grants include Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (Dear Evan Hansen), Dave Malloy (Natasha, Pierre & the Great Comet of 1812), Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey (Next to Normal).

The American Theatre Wing is a non-profit dedicated to the growth and evolution of the American theatre. They distribute the National Theatre Company Grants and the Henry Hewes Design Awards. They also co-present the Tony Awards and the Obie Awards.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard