ADV – Leaderboard

Princess Grace Awards Announced, Including Theatre and Dance Honorees

Among this year’s awards are 6 for playwrights/theatre artists and 6 for dance artists, as well as scholarships for high school-age theatremakers and performers.

NEW YORK CITY: The Princess Grace Foundation has announced 2022 18 Princess Grace Award winners and six honoraria recipients in the fields of theatre, dance, and film.

The foundation recognizes extraordinary emerging artists in these fields with $10,000 cash grants; this year’s honoraria recipients will receive $1,000 cash grants. The Princess Grace winners and honoraria recipients will now become part of a community of 800 alumni eligible for grant opportunities, career and development resources, and networking opportunities. Grant opportunities include but are not limited to special project grants and works-in-progress residencies.  

This year’s Princess Grace Award winners for theatre and playwriting are Siena Zoë Allen, Héctor Alvarez, Abigail C. Onwunali, Kate Russell, Gabriela Saker, and Francisco Mendoza; honoraria recipients in this category are Shayok Misha Chowdhury, Dane Figueroa Edidi, and Britnie Narcisse. Award winners for dance performance and choreography inclues Abdiel Figueroa Reyes, Mira Nadon, Jake Tribus, Omar Román De Jesús, Kameron N. Saunders, and Maleek Washington.

In a statement, Brisa Carleton, CEO of the Princess Grace Foundation-USA, called this year’s awardees “a distinguished group of individuals that represent the next generation of artistry. The Princess Grace Foundation’s mission of identifying extraordinary talent could not be possible without our Arts Advisory Board and selection panelists, and we thank them for their commitment and time. We look forward to celebrating these talented artists with this esteemed group in the presence of H.S.H. Prince Albert II of Monaco at our Princess Grace Awards Celebration on Nov. 3.” 

Grace Kelly Training Scholarships are also awarded to high school students who are theatremakers and performers. This is the second year the Princess Grace Foundation is offering these awards, which come as leadership gifts from the Victory Foundation and the Grace Kelly Scholarships for Thespian Excellence. Each recipient will receive a $1,000 scholarship to an artistic training program. This year’s recipients are Denver Dickenson, Wyatt Hardy, Lexi Limin, Ginny McGee and Caroline Yim.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard