ADV – Leaderboard

Jack Willis, Kevin Kenerly, Terri McMahon, and Kimberly Scott in Lynn Nottage's "Sweat" at Oregon Shakespeare Festival, 2015. (Photo by Jenny Graham)

Lynn Nottage’s ‘Sweat’ Receives 2016 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize

The Pulitzer Prize-winning playwright receives a $25,000 award for her play about America’s industrial decline.

NEW YORK CITY: Lynn Nottage has been awarded the 2016 Susan Smith Blackburn Prize for her play Sweat. The prize, which is in its 38th year, celebrates female playwrights who have written works for the English-speaking theatre.

Actor Tanya Moodie, who was also one of this year’s judges, presented Nottage with the $25,000 prize and a signed and numbered print by Willem de Kooning at the National Theatre in London on Monday. This year’s finalists were Sarah Burgess for Dry Powder; Rachel Cusk forMedea; Sarah DeLappe for The Wolves; Sam Holcroft for Rules for Living; Anna Jordan for Yen; Dominique Morisseau for Skeleton Crew; Suzan-Lori Parks for Father Comes Home From the Wars (Parts 1, 2 & 3); Bea Roberts for And Then Come the Nightjars; and Noni Stapleton for Charolais. Each finalist received a $5,000 award.

In addition to Moodie, the 2016 judges were Kate Bassett, Jeremy Herrin, Greta Gerwig, Sam Gold, and Branden Jacobs-Jenkins.

Co-commissioned by the Oregon Shakespeare Festival and Arena StageSweat follows a group of workers in Reading, Pa., who are faced with the loss of their jobs as the city’s local steel mill undergoes changes.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by making a donation to our publisher, Theatre Communications Group. When you support American Theatre magazine and TCG, you support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism. Click here to make your fully tax-deductible donation today!

ADV – Billboard