Lilly Awards to Honor Julie Taymor, Denée Benton, and More

The awards, which honor women in theatre, will be presented at a ceremony on May 22.

NEW YORK CITY: The Lilly Awards, which celebrate women in American theatre, will honor Julie Taymor, Denée Benton, Micki Grant, Toni-Leslie James, Mandy Greenfield, Madison Ferris, and Beanie Feldstein. The 8th annual ceremony will be held on May 22 at Playwrights Horizons.

Julie Taymor

The Lilly Awards will also present a series of grants, including the New York Women’s Foundation Directing Apprenticeship Award, the Leah Ryan Prize, the Harper Lee Award, the Stacey Mindich “Go Write a Play” Award, and the Daryl Roth Creative Spirit Award. Winners will be announced at the ceremony.

Founded in 2010 by Julia Jordan, Marsha Norman, and Theresa Rebeck, the Lilly Awards are presented by the Lilly Awards Foundation with support from the Dramatists Guild.