ADV – Leaderboard

Awards for December 2013

Annie Baker and Rajiv Joseph win the Steinberg Distinguished Playwright Award, Amy E. Hughes receives the Barnard Hewitt Award for theatre research, and a round-up of more prizes and awards from our December 2013 issue.

Annie Baker and Rajiv Joseph are the winners of the 2013 Steinberg Playwright Awards, given by the Harold and Mimi Steinberg Charitable Trust, honoring early- and middle-stage playwrights. Baker and Joseph each received $50,000.

At the Ivey Awards in Minneapolis in September, Jeffrey Hatcher won the lifetime achievement award. Among other winners was the Jungle Theater’s production of In the Next Room, for overall excellence. Directing awards went to Peter Beard and James Napoleon Stone (for Hamlet at Theater Coup d’Etat), and Peter Brosius (for If You Give a Mouse a Cookie at Children’s Theatre Company).

The New York Innovative Theatre Awards were held in September, honoring Off-Off Broadway theatre. Winners included The Thirteenth Commandment from Libra Theater Company (for featured actors Justin Danforth and Lauren Pennline) and The Window: 4 ALICE from PopUp Theatrics (for lead actor Nich Smerkanich, costume design and set design from Daniela Codarcea Kamiliotis, and ensemble).

The sixth annual “Artsies” awards, honoring Richmond theatre, were held in October at Virginia Repertory Theatre. Among the winners was Richmond Triangle Players’s bare: a pop opera, which won for best musical and direction (Justin Amellio). Cadence Theatre Company’s production of Next to Normal won two acting awards: Duke Lafoon for leading actor in a musical and Andrea Rivette for leading actress in a musical.

The 43rd annual Theatre Hall of Fame Ceremony will be held in January in New York City, where eight people will be inducted into the honorary organization. Inductees must have 25 years on Broadway and at least five major production credits to their name. This year’s famers are the late playwright Lorraine Hansberry; actors Cherry Jones and Ellen Burstyn, directors Lynne Meadow, George C. Wolfe and Jerry Zaks; producer Cameron Mackintosh and set designer David Hays.

TCG, the publisher of this magazine, has announced the eighth round of the Fox Foundation Resident Actor Fellowship, which supports actors’ residencies at U.S. theatres. The awards total $217,500. The recipients and their host theatres are Sun Mee Chomet at Mu Performing Arts (Minn.), Cindy Im at TheatreWorks (Calif.), Jennifer Kidwell at Pig Iron Theatre Company (Pa.), Orlando Pabotoy at Ma-Yi Theater Company (N.Y.), Daniel Robert Sullivan at Roundabout Thea­tre Company (N.Y.), Evelina Fernandez at Latino Theater Company (Calif.) and David Greenspan at Transport Group Theatre Company (N.Y.).

Center Theatre Group in Los Angeles has announced the winners of its Richard E. Sherwood Awards for emerging thea­tre artists living in the City of Angels. Sean Cawelti will receive $10,000, and runner-ups Yuval Sharon and Miranda Wright will each receive $2,500.

The Stage Directors and Choreographers Foundation has announced the winners of the Joe A. Callaway Award, for direction and choreography in New York City. Ruben Santiago-Hudson won the a director’s award for The Piano Lesson at Signature Theatre. Marlo Hunter won the choreographer award for Unlock’d at Prospect Thea­ter Company.

The 2013 Paul Robeson Award was presented in October by Actors’ Equity Association to Shauneille Perry. The award recognizes an individual or organization whose work demonstrates a commitment to freedom of expression and a belief in equality. Perry has directed more than 100 plays, including, appropriately, the play Paul Robeson by Phillip Hayes Dean.

Amy E. Hughes has won the 2013 Barnard Hewitt Award for research in theatre history for her book Spectacles of Reform: Theater and Activism in Nineteenth-Century America. The award is presented by the American Society for Thea­tre Research and University of Illinois–Urbana-Champaign’s thea­tre department.

Long Wharf Theatre in Connecticut’s $3.8 million mainstage renovation project is the winner of the Build New England Awards Program 2013. The prize recognizes team members for architectural projects.

Support American Theatre: a just and thriving theatre ecology begins with information for all. Please join us in this mission by joining TCG, which entitles you to copies of our quarterly print magazine and helps support a long legacy of quality nonprofit arts journalism.

ADV – Billboard